The Trust

The trust was established by Trust Deed on 29th July 1986 to honour the memory of the late Charles Douglas-Home, and in particular, in recognition of his life-long commitment to the cause of free opinion, freely expressed.



The purpose of the Trust is to advance the education of the public concerning social and democratic conditions developments and institutions anywhere in the world. In particular to promote research concerning any aspect of the same and secondly for such general charitable purposes as the Trustees may from time to time decide.


How does the Trust achieve this?

Promoting the carrying out of education and research into education. Promoting the writing and publication of books, pamphlets, journals, films and records. Inaugurating and promoting bursaries, scholarships and prizes.


2020 Charles Douglas-Home Memorial Trust Grant

The trustees are pleased to announce that two grants have been awarded for 2020. The first is to Jamie Blackett. Jamie will research and write an essay on the subject of ‘Wilding’, a concept that is starting to influence environmental policy, but one which has hitherto been only loosely defined or scrutinised. As a farmer and conservationist, and author of Red Rag to a Bull, the trustees believe he is well qualified to conduct this research.
The second is to Tycho Johnson, his subject will be ‘An investigation of censorship and its potential long-term effects on academia in the United Kingdom’. Tycho studied creative writing and English literature at Essex University. He has been a contributor to Standpoint magazine. He currently writes for The Article.com and teaches in a London secondary school.


Future Activities

Each year the Trustees look into proposals and subjects which will be suitable for the giving of the annual awards to a candidate of their choice.



HRH The Duke of Kent, KG, GCMG, GCVO

Alfred Brendel, KBE

Rupert Murdoch, AC

The Rt Hon Lord Owen, PC

The Rt Hon Lord Sainsbury of Preston Candover, KG

The Rt Hon Lord David Steele, KBE, DL, MP

Lady Fraser

The Hon Mr Justice Cazelet

The Rt Hon Lord Howell of Guildford, PC

The Rt Hon Michael Howard, MP